Because dressing up is fun

Dolly Parton once said that if she had been born a boy, she would have been a drag queen because of her love for all things girly and feminine.

I bring this up because there are several times when I get called out for being “too feminine”.  I didn’t know that was possible. But there is a reason or two for this dressing habit.

One reason is the fact that when I would put on enough makeup to become my mask, it would look ridiculous to pair that up with jeans and a t-shirt. If I am going all out to reshape my face, then the house should compliment the shutters. I know that is a lame analogy, but I do not know the first thing about home improvement (but let’s talk heels and clothes and I will talk your ear off).  I also used the word “would” because I would use 3 different shades to create my look. Then I found MAC and I am good with one coat. This lighter array of makeup allows me to wear whatever I want, though I am still partial to heels and skirts .  As I tell everyone, if I had been born, genetically, a girl, I would still dress like this. It’s what I like.

Which brings us a nice transition into reason two. I dress how I feel and how I like. If nature had done its job properly, making the outside and inside match, I would still dress up. I love the look of skirts, hose and heels. I suppose you could call it a fetish, but it doesn’t turn me on, I just admire the form of a body in that manner.  I will also go out of my way to let someone know how nice they look when dressed as such.

My wife hates to wear hose and cannot understand why I like them. First of all, I like the feel of them. I really do.  Secondly, I like how legs look in them (mine or anyone else’s). I get told (that) “If I had to wear them I wouldn’t like them,” and I reply, I wear them all the time and love them.  Since I do, it’s another reason to dress up rather than down.

I will totally go “Jenning” in jeans and sweatshirt, with a little less makeup, but it is a little odd. I cherish the ritual of getting ready. I find none of it a burden and all of it amazing.

I have nothing against dressing down, nor should anyone else, but take into consideration what getting done up does, not only for you, but also, those around you.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

