There’s a bathroom on the right.

Besides being a misinterpreted line from Creedance Clearwater Revival’s BAD MOON RISING (there’s a bad moon on the rise), it leads beautifully into this short snippet of a blog entry.

As a non-op TG, it is always a tough decision using the restroom while out.

The majority of Americans (or at least Fox News’ version of majority) feel that the trans community needs to use the restroom that reflects their birth sex.  If you were born a boy, use the boys.  Girls use the girls.  But this can really lead to HUGE complications.

The women are usually the ones who want TGs to stay out of their lavatories.  I can only assume it is because they are afraid that the TG individual wants to get in there for some sick excuse to see women on toilets, and I know that there are probably some out there who would do that very thing.  Some would also don the apparel of the opposite gender and use the TG as an umbrella for hiding so that they can indeed feed their fetishistic needs.  I feel this would be the exception to the rule.

To that exception, I can see their hesitation.  But honestly, can you imagine what would happen if I were to be dressed in my feminine finest and be standing at the urinal when a group of guys came in?  Needless to say, I doubt that there would be any walking out of there without a major incident, if I would even be able to walk out.

This is why I tend to drink very little prior to going out, or while out.  I just don’t want to be faced with this dilemma.  There is a great place in Indianapolis called Talbott Street.  No issues there.  For one, it is a gay bar (though it’s usually a mixed crowd) and the restrooms are unisex.

There have been instances where I just could not wait any longer and had to go.  The lucky part of these couple times, were the people I happened to be with.  One stood guard outside the door (of the ladies room) and the other time I was accompanied in.  Not that either time would have been a huge issue.  They were “Goth” nights at a couple Indy bars, however, they were straight bars.  But neither time created any kind of uncomfortable situation.

I guess it all comes down to this.  I am a woman.  It is how I feel.  It is how I present myself.  I have no desire to sneak pervilly into a women’s restroom to get my rocks off.  I will never walk into a men’s restroom while dressed, with the only possible exception being Halloween, and even then, only maybe.  The women’s restroom it is.  I will deal with whatever consequences present themselves at the time of departure.  However, I have noticed male/female bathrooms.  I believe it is a single seat with a locking door, but it allows for one to be discreet, should that need ever arise.

Ladies, trust me, if you encounter a Trans Woman in the ladies room, your business is the last thing on her mind.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s a bathroom on the right.

  1. bronzegirl says:

    We need to visit Talbott Street on my next visit!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Yes we do! And we will!!!!

Leave a Reply

