Clothes make the (wo)man

The saying has always been, “Clothes make the man.”  I suppose what they say is true, from a certain point of view (get the connection and when a prize).

One of the toughest things about being between genders is a dual wardrobe.  My wife is always complaining about how many clothes I have compared to her and I have to remind her that I’m shopping for two.  Good thing I’m not eating for two!!

It really isn’t so much the case any longer.  If you were to sort through my clothes, you would find a very blatant absence of most things male.  I have one pair of men’s dress pants, that don’t look nearly as darling as the two pair of women’s pants that look almost just like the male pair.  Black with pen stripes.  GAWD I love that combo!

As for shirts, I do own four male dress shirts, but to be truthful, they are very femininely styled.  T-Shirts (you know the Star Wars kind or other graphics) have me at my peak.  I have several of those.  I can also wear a child’s XL, so there are some of those thrown in as well.  However, many of my printed Ts are juniors as well.

From there we go to shoes.  Well, I guess I have one pair on men’s dress shoes, though when I wear them I tend to walk like Hank Azaria in THE BIRDCAGE when he has to wear shoes to serve the dinner.  Horrid things! and I do have a pair of Sex Pistols slip ons, but those are more unisex than male.

Everything else I wear are women’s.  All of my jeans, pants, capris, shorts, shoes, sandals, tops and other t-shirts are all junior’s.  Dresses are, of course, female.  🙂

So within that wardrobe of femaleness, there are clothes to suit the mood, as in everyday life.  I blogged before about absolutely loving skirts.  I do.  I can’t help it.  A nice dress skirt with hose and heels are a perfect match for me, though not for every day errands.

I love how I look in mini skirts, so I have a few. My faves are denim.  They can be worn with a pair a flat sandals, or wedges, or with tights and leggings in the winter.  So versatile everyone should have them.  The down side is that my legs are bowed, otherwise, I would have to say I have darn cute legs.

When I discovered how clothing could affect my attitude was when I started really getting into the accessorizing and combining of different pieces to really match my style.  I have some really adorable tops that I would pair with the minis and end up being very feminine.  These are the outfits that will get catcalls (something I used to detest being done by my male counterparts but now really kind of dig when cast my way).  With these I am very coy and my walk is certainly a more gliding flow than normal.

The dress skirts or suits, with heels,  will always allow for a more rigid walk.  A stronger more confident walk.  I channel my inner Ivana Trump.  She had to be a strong bitch to put up with him!

The biggest effect to date was discovered quite by accident.  I was in California with Sarah and we decided to go to a concert my 2nd night in.  We went to a straight bar to see FLASHBACK HEARTTACK, a reasonably good, 80s retro, cover band.  For the night I went with skinny jeans, heels and a bustier with a jacket.  The bustier was not necessarily meant to be worn as outer wear, but I went with it all the same.  It was too gorgeous and glamorous to be hidden behind another layer of clothing.  Honestly, I’m sure it was intended to be worn either way, but back to the story.  I found myself being a really butch glamazon in this ensemble.  I strode a little longer.  Walked a little rougher.  Stood a little straighter.  I believe that if anyone would have fucked with me, I would have fucked right back.  At least that is how it seemed.  Unfortunately, when it came to standing up for my best friend, I couldn’t manage to bring all that power to the forefront.  See, she was being hit on by a couple really drunk assholes.  The kind that think because they are drunk, and guys, they are allowed to touch a girl.  Put their arms around them without an invitation or a flirt.  To continually try to chat you up and let you know how awesome they are.  Sadly, this kept up, so at their first break, we decided to leave.  I wanted so much to harness that inner strength and defend her, but I couldn’t do it.  Needless to say, if it had crossed that line that it was quickly approaching, I would have thrown my own safety to the wind and interjected with all my might.

The other clothes that will spark that kind of inner domme, are my punk/goth clothes.  Very subtle differences, however.  With the punk clothes I wear, I really do tap into that maleness that is still in me and will slam with the best of them, all while looking totally hot in my plaid minis, fishnets and Doc Martens.  On the Goth side of things, I am still very, well, RAWR in attitude but with a softness.  It must be the ruffles that go along with the rivets and corsetry that allow for this femininity to shine through.

With all that said, the two wardrobes, none of my underwear is male.  I haven’t worn men’s underwear in well over 15 years.  Too much information?  Sorry, but it does lead to the final question, and, please, do interject if you have any thoughts on the subject.  My underwear is women’s and my panty of choice seems to be boyshorts or the “male” look panties.  Why is that?  I really have no answer for this, myself.  If that’s what I like, then why not just wear the men’s underwear?  There are very feminine cuts to men’s underwear.  There are bikinis and thongs and all made from very gentle fabrics instead of the tried and true cotton.  But I don’t.  I prefer mine to be panties.  Now I do have some VERY fun and feminine cut with lace and just the right amount of sexy.  Because, we all know that you can be sexy as hell underneath it all.

So there we are.  Two wardrobes, well, mainly one and then the tiniest bits, for when I have to be all boy.  But I can never really be all boy.  Not any more.  Not ever again.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clothes make the (wo)man

  1. Is “I suppose what they say is true, from a certain point of view” a Star Wars reference? More specifically, a Return of the Jedi reference?

    I have two closets in my bedroom. One holds all my male clothes, the other my female. I’m having FFS in August, and part of the excitement of that surgery is that I finally get to free up all the space in the male closet 🙂

Leave a Reply

