A much lighter fare

YES!  No reference to a song, unless there is one out there somewhere with this line in it.  I hope not. This is a great day out from a couple weeks ago.

My daughter and I had recently gone through a lot of our books, CDs and DVDs and ended up with quite a haul to take to sell at Half-Price Books in Indy. I had made the decision to be me, rather than tuck any part of me away. Ok, I did have to tuck ONE part of me away. 😉

 
She knows about me and is totally on board with anything I end up doing. She is a great kid and at 19 1/2 you have to be proud of someone who has a good head on their shoulders and still wants to hang with the parental units. Despite her knowledge, I did ask prior to going. I did not want to make her uncomfortable at all. She said go for it!!

We began by hitting the mall. She wanted to check out the MAC counter at Macy’s so we started there. It must have been inventory time, or restock time, as the girl at the counter talked to her once and then completely disappeared. We went to Hot Topic (so sad to see this one transformed from a dungeon to a cotton candy factory looking place but that is where HT is headed). After looking around we went back and still no salesperson. After killing more time we gave up and left. Next time we will hit the MAC store in Keystone. Before leaving the mall we made our normal stop at Border’s to look for more books (after packing up 4 bags and a box full to sell).

We went over to Half-Price Books and made our way to the door, arms loaded. A very kind gentleman got the door for us and we went to sell our goods. After about an hour or so my sale was complete. I did say I had four book totes full (if anyone has worked at a library, you know the bags I mean). While waiting I walked around my normal areas. Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Manga and Photography/Film. It was a good browsing and it also seemed to be the very areas of interest for the gentleman who held the door, as we continually crossed paths (no he wasn’t following me, nor I, him). He managed to work up the nerve to ask me if I liked Sci-Fi and Graphic Novels, to which I replied yes. His response was that it was cool. Not too many cute ladies enjoyed those types of things. I told him he just needed to know where to look. I have MANY girl friends who love the stuff and they are absolutely adorable. He laughed and we parted ways.

From there we went to eat at Johnny Rockets and enjoyed a great lunch with a super waitress, good food and good conversation about any number of things. Indianapolis schools were done for the summer and the restaurant was full of teenagers (a possibly horrific experience for any category of trans woman/man) but nothing was said. No stares, no laughing at the tables, nothing. Just a mom and daughter having lunch (or older sister as one saleslady at the mall asked).

When we returned home I asked her if it bothered her at all, actually going out with me as Jenn rather than just seeing me heading out on my own. She said no, but it took her a while to realize who she was looking for in the stores. Not a blonde, spikey-haired, femme boy, but rather a long, straight, brown-haired bombshell. That made the perfect end to the perfect day.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal, Lady Bits, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

