One thing I always get

One of the biggest compliments I get, when out, is my ability to walk in heels. Women always ask how I can walk so easily in them when they struggle.

I really wish I had an answer for them. I remember my first time in heels. I was foolishly mocking a friend of mine (in Jr. high) who was trying desperately to walk in her new shoes. Upon my teasing her, she took them off, tossed them at me and said, “Then you try it!”

I slipped them on and after about 2 or 3 steps found the groove and walked with pride as I strutted across the floor. She was amazed. I was amazed. It was so easy and seemed so natural.

I get questions from all over about walking in them. A lot of the time the girl is a bit surprised when I answer with a, well, less than girlie voice. They always tell me that makes it even worse that I’m a guy and can walk better in them than they can.

It tends to be a good ice breaker and I have ended up meeting several really nice girls out of the whole situation….and a few nice guys.

I’m not overly tall, at 5’7″, so heels are a great way to lengthen the legs, feel very femme and make my legs look great!

I must say that my calves look spectacular when in heels (not being conceited, just saying) =) One possibility could be the manner in which men walk.  The whole heel to toe thing. I was also one that (in health class) could put my head against the wall, pick up a chair and stand straight up with no problem, something that only women are supposed to be able to do…something to do with the hips. My health teacher jokingly called me a freak and told me to sit down and have another guy try it, which none others could do. This was in total boy mode…nobody knew of Jenn back then.

Some heels are indeed a practiced art form. I can dance in them but nowhere NEAR the way the ballroom ladies do. JEALOUS!!!!! The wearing of heels actually forces a better posture, for me anyway, and a lighter, gliding way of walking. Depending on the heels, I have had back pain the following day, but it’s worth it!!!

I have always loved heels and wear them quite often now. Even if I am in drab, I wear them under my flares or whatever jean I am wearing. Sometimes hidden, sometimes quite visible. =)

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One thing I always get

  1. Mara says:

    It’s funny, people have always asked me how I walk in heels, too. I never know what to say. “One foot in front of the other”? 😀 It’s just a natural thing for me– I trip more in flat shoes than I do in heels.
    I don’t think it’s really a matter of practice. I think it’s just something that you can do or you can’t.
    Whatever it is… I love wearing heels. Especially tall ones. It’s worth the occasional pain (for me, usually foot cramps or blisters, when the heels are 4-1/2″+) 😉

Leave a Reply

