BRIDESMAIDS

The saying goes, “Always a bridesmaid, never a bride.”  Well, I’ve never been either, but I just watched BRIDESMAIDS and have not laughed so much in quite a long time.

Producer Judd Apatow and director Paul Feig have rejoined forces to bring you the top grossing (no pun intended) rated R female film of all time.  Earning $152.9 million dollars so far, just edging out Sex and the City’s $152.6 million. Apatow and Feig, the creative forces behind FREAKS AND GEEKS have struck gold with a film that walks right in to a genre reserved for men and kicks all their asses.

Apatow tends to go for the crudest of the crude humor while Feig takes up to that line of discomfort and dips your toe on the other side.  This combination equals hilarity unmatched, in my opinion.  You are able to enjoy the situation without feeling uncomfortable or just plain disgusted.  Co-written by Kristen Wiig, who also stars in the film, this is comedy gold worth striking.

BRIDESMAIDS follows Annie and her roller coaster life while trying to fulfill all her maid of honor duties for her best friend Lillian, played by Maya Rudolph, even though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she’ll show Lillian and her bridesmaids just how far you’ll go for someone you love.  Enter Lillian’s newest friend, setting her sights at the Best Friend spot.  Put all this together with, again in my opinion, an all star cast of women playing the group of colorful bridesmaids (Rose Byrne, Melissa McCarthy, Wendi McLendon-Covey and Ellie Kemper) and just a couple of regular guys (Jon Hamm andChris O’Dowd) who are very important to the story.  🙂

 

 

 

Annie’s life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian’s maid of honor.

For me, this hits just below my number one spot of I LOVE YOU, MAN and replaces my number two, though just barely, ROLE MODELS.  These three films are must see movies.

BRIDESMAIDS is sure to be in theaters for a few more weeks, but don’t wait.  It has been playing since mid May, so it’s future in theaters is nearing an end, despite hanging in there with summer blockbusters already released.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Nerd Alert, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

