Happy Birthday, America

On the night of July 3, 2011, I found myself reflecting heavily upon the strides our country has made in the decades and centuries leading up to its 235th birthday. In terms of civil rights, we’ve come a long way, and I feel so lucky to live here rather than in a country where many rights are but a distant dream. Yet despite how far we’ve come, there is still so much further to go. I’m working on my own ways to be a proactive force toward this progress (and I ask you to do your part as well — it’s not as hard as you might think), and instead of dwelling on what’s still wrong in our country, I decided this Independence Day I would celebrate what we have accomplished, albeit in sort of an odd way.

I live in the suburbs of Orange County, California. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve driven home with the theme song to Weeds running through my head (little boxes on a hillside, little boxes all the same…). Yet, just a scant mile outside of the idyllic rows of cul-de-sacs and perfectly manicured lawns is a small community tucked neatly into a canyon. Some hot spots to visit, if you’re so inclined, are the general store and the highly popular biker bar. My roommate and I agree that driving through the town is like taking a trip back to rural, southern Indiana, which is where we both grew up, complete with questionable country folk and old cars in front yards. When I’m in the canyon, I have banjo music running through my head, and I hope nobody tells me I have a purty mouth.

Every year to celebrate July 4th, the canyon community puts on a parade. They should really use the term “parade” loosely because it’s really just a ragtag collection of anyone who wants to participate walking down the main street in a line. It. Was. Interesting. I don’t know how well I can put it into words, so instead, here is a collection of pictures chronicling the event.

Say hi to the neighbors. These folks provided the pre-parade party with a stellar Johnny Cash soundtrack.

Breaking out the fancy furniture. Yes, that's a dining set. It was propped up on paint cans.

The parade's Grand Marshall.

A Civil War reenactment participant perhaps? I have no idea.

The highlight of the event.

It's a donkey. Painted like a zebra. I'm so confused...

This was how they ended the parade. I can't even make this stuff up.

There were maybe a handful of parade participants that I didn’t snap a photo of, but this was pretty much the entire event. Sadly I didn’t get a chance to get a picture of the most glorious lady mullet west of the Mississippi. But I feel like I got in touch with middle America and therefore became somehow super patriotic. I hope everyone had a happy and safe Independence Day however you chose to celebrate. Or not celebrate. But I’m sure you did celebrate because you don’t hate America, right?
This entry was posted in Bizarre, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

