Practice Makes Perfect

When I was in Jr. High. I remember locking myself in my room for an entire day until I was able to do it properly.

NO, not THAT.

I taped my fingers together in such a way that it held them together perfectly while I separated them into that ever iconic Vulcan Salute from Star Trek.

(Christian Slater can’t do it!!)

 

 

 

 

 

 
I was born a boy.  Well, certainly not ALL boy and certainly not typical, but I did my share of things to fit in with the rest, as best I could.  Most of my ‘boy interests’ were certainly things that I would have liked if born a girl.  I am a Sci-Fi and Fantasy nut!

Star Trek also gave us boys a reason to play with dolls.  The MEGO line was amazing, and even though I had none of these myself, my friends did.  Spock was my favorite followed by Scotty and Uhura.  Of course, I would play with Uhura as much as possible and my friends didn’t seem to care.  I’m sure I drew the line just shy of being too convincing.  Nichelle Nichols was my new Eartha Kitt.  She just had that certain…..something.  I love her to this day.

But Spock was my favorite.  Leonard Nimoy has always had a spell on me, reaching all the way back to Mission Impossible reruns before I discovered Star Trek.  I tried and tried to make the salute work but I couldn’t manage (like many other things that came quite easy to my friends).  Then Robin Williams had to go and up the ante by turning it sideways for his Ork hand shake (NANOO-NANOO).  That was it.  I had to be able to do this simplest of tasks.

That’s when I did it.  I figured out that, if I were to tape the sets of fingers together, I could work these fingers and their muscles into obedience.  I remember telling my friends I could not play that day.  I sat, listening to the Star Trek soundtrack cassette, and went at it with all the determination of an Olympic athlete (and I was in no way an athlete).

Hour after hour I worked my fingers.  Hour after hour I willed it in my brain.  Hour after hour….I still wasn’t making much progress.  Minor, but not where I thought I needed to be.  I began to deprive myself of needed things.  No bathroom break.  No water.  No food.  I was a tyrant trainer.  Then it happened.  After almost 4 hours, I was able to slightly move my fingers apart without them raising up at an odd angle.  I was almost there.

After another hour or so of work, I decided to take the tape off (luckily I had not put it on too tight) and sat, staring at my hands, willing them to make the salute…..and I DID!!!!!!!

I ran out of my room to show my brother…..who had given up on me ever being normal.  He brushed it off with a smug, “You mean you couldn’t do that?”.  I then ran outside and up to my friends’ house.  “LIVE LONG AND PROSPER!!!!!” I shouted as I waved my new found coolness to the world.  “THAT’S why you couldn’t play?” they asked, except for one, who gave me my props.

To this day, I can proudly give the Vulcan salute to anyone who would appreciate it (and all the hard work that went into it).

Live long, and prosper.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Nerd Alert, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Practice Makes Perfect

  1. mellisande says:

    MEGO! I always wanted a Mighty Isis doll. But generally those were before my time.

    I played with GI Joes, like all good little boys, only I always made sure Lady Jaye and Scarlett were in my pile!

    • Jennifer says:

      ISIS!!!! Oh yes! Later in life came SHE-RA!!

      I had my Joes (the 12″ ones, since I’m clearly older than you. :P).

      Things that had to be done to fit in….but at least we found our way to fit in….our way. 🙂

      • mellisande says:

        Also! Turnabout Intruder! Hello, gender swap. It might be one of the earliest things I’d ever seen with a gender swap in it.

      • Jennifer says:

        That was a first for me as well.

        The philosophy held within each episode was, and is, an important lesson. We have made great strides but still have far, far to go.

  2. Glad to hear you were such a Star Trek fan. One of the biggest messages I ever got from Trek (even as a kid but especially now many moons later) was that acceptance of diversity is one of the things that will help our race survive to the 23rd century. Kudos to you!

    Chris

    http://captainsblog1701.wordpress.com

    • Jennifer says:

      Chris,
      Thank you for reading and commenting!! That is awesome and quite appreciated!

      Star Trek was my first real escape. The lessons taught by Mr. Roddenberry and the gang were SO important and very much ahead of their time. People can mock all they want, but have them sit down and watch, without bias, any of the episodes, and there is so much more to these gems than anyone could have thought possible.

      Diversity. Acceptance. Equality. Star Trek held these values high.

  3. Too bad WordPress doesn’t have a “Like” button as Facebook does. Oh well. More power to you, Jennifer!

  4. I used a broken piece of pencil to force my middle and ring fingers apart in, I believe, fourth grade. That’s how I finally was able to do the Vulcan salute. I was never a Star Trek fan (sorry), but I did like Spock.

Leave a Reply

