The queen of outstretched arms

I’m not talking about some obscure saint or the queen of love and welcome.  I’m talkin’ ’bout a revolution (not really).  I am talking about the slew of self portraits when your arm is the only tripod you have.

I am always taking pictures of myself (not for vanity, but for, well, ok, it sort of HAS to be vanity) but not because I have no one to go out with or that nobody will go out with me, but because I usually make the decision and go in a last minute kid of way (like the candy by the checkout lanes—-impulse).  If I am not alone, while out, I don’t want to intrude to have someone else take it (friend or stranger).  I also don’t want my friend and companion to think it’s all about  me, which it isn’t.  I’m really not selfish at all.

Through the outstretched arm, one begins to discover their better side.  I’d always thought that was a myth, but I truly discovered that I have a  better side.  It is my right side.  Maybe it’s my left.  I don’t know , maybe it is just a myth.

 

 

 

One also becomes quite adept at quickly snapping a picture and going on one’s way. Sometimes even snapping an action shot while walking.

 

While out on your own, there are ways to find nature’s tripod (or man made if you are shopping).  Trash cans, poles, posts, shelves, rocks, benches, etc…can all be used to steady the camera so you can run around and get in the frame.  Oh the fabulous self timer mode.  Nine seconds to get around, strike a pose and be ready.  Sometimes easier said than done.  Nine seconds seems like a long time, but in reality, it can take just that long to scurry over in front of the lens (depending on the heel size).

On a side note, mirrors are also great ways to strike a pose, whether at home or shopping.

 

I do love to be photographed.  It is a vanity (there I admitted it).  Upon  occasion, I have had the fortune to have friends who will totally jump in and snap away.

 

It’s a nice change of pace from the arm.

If evolution continues, we will end up with one arm far longer than the other.  But can you imagine the great pics we can get when that happens!!??

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Nerd Alert, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The queen of outstretched arms

  1. bronzegirl says:

    I love your pictures. I’ll go out with you, and I’ll take your picture without feeling like it’s an intrusion (I may intrude and get in a picture with you 🙂 I love you outfits and your poses. AND—You are not a selfish person in the least. I can’t wait to get out and about with you when I come back for a long visit!! WOOT!

  2. here says:

    Could you message me with some hints & tips on how you made this blog look like this, I would appreciate it.

    • Jennifer says:

      Hi there!!

      Actually, within wordpress you can add photos through one of the buttons along the top menu where you are writing. From there it will ask you where you want it aligned and how big. It will insert the picture wherever your cursor is positioned. It took me a couple tries to get it right. 😉

Leave a Reply

