A look at yesterday

Yesterday held a few surprises for me.  Nice surprises.

I went to Indianapolis to turn in an application at Half-Price Books.  I absolutely love their store and the people that work there.  HPB prides itself on diversity and openness, so I thought I would go ahead and apply as Jenn.  Of course, the name on the app was my male name, since I haven’t undergone any changes in name or gender at this point.  It’s a little hard to get paid if you use an alias.  🙂

So I got up and had the ensemble of the day already chosen.  A nice, slim fitting, deep red top, grey knee length skirt and heels.

The drive down was quite uneventful, which is the way I like it.  Smooth flowing traffic.  No hang-ups.

I arrived and decided to look around first, in case there was something I wanted to buy.  I found a ton of stuff, but then decided this was not a spending trip, but rather an attempt to GAIN money.

Just prior to leaving, I went up to the desk and turned in my application.  The gentleman was very kind and told me a bit about the position.  I thanked him, told him it sounded perfect.  Off I went for the second part of my morning.

I had been in contact with some girls in Indy that like to go out upon now and then.  They are a group of TVs, but that’s cool.  People are people and friends are friends.  Though  I have yet to be able to actually connect with them, we have exchanged a couple pictures, just so we know who it is we are hanging out with, or looking for in a crowd.  They all seem to think that I look like a girl and must be living full time, which is a nice boost. One of these girls knew I was going to be in town and wanted to have lunch.  I had time for a quick soda.

I went over to Johnny Rockets and was met by a VERY gorgeous guy.  Trinna is a TV, so does not dress all the time.  We had an absolutely lovely time, talking about so many things over sodas.  Nobody else in the restaurant seemed to care at all (or notice) that we were anything other than a couple out for a nice meet up.  Our waitress was super cool, which they usually are there, and treated us well, even though she was not making any real money off this sale.  We talked for about 45 minutes and then I had to excuse myself, as I really needed to return to Muncie.

He gave me a huge hug and we went our separate ways.  Upon returning home, I discovered he had sent me a text and told me that I was a very cute woman.  I told him he was just as dashing and within a couple texts, realized he was quite interested in dating me.  Mainly because he said so.  🙂  He knew I was married and wondered how open our marriage was.  I told him that he could always hit on me, but it would go no further than that.  I am faithful.

He conceded defeat but wants to get together again for a real lunch date.  We’ll see.

Upon returning home, the rest of the day was pretty much the same as always.  No big deal.

THEN, I got a phone call.  I got called in for an interview from HPB!!!!  From the voice on the phone, I think it was the same gentleman I spoke with when turning it in.  I haven’t decided, yet, how to go to the interview.  My thought is to go as my male self, in case it was not the same gentleman and to show my two sides.  If it is the same person, I can talk about the dress code then and see what is acceptable and what is not (even if it isn’t, I can still ask).  If I can work as Jenn, you better believe it’s what I’m going to do.  🙂

It was a great day and one that I truly needed.  I’ve been on the mend since my last entry.  I knew I would get out of the depression, but this was quite a climb.  It was scary.  It was a dark time for the Rebellion.  I started a post about the music I was listening to.  I will finish that entry soon and discuss the healing power of music.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A look at yesterday

  1. Tracy says:

    Super excited about HPB…we have one in my area that opened about a year ago and it’s utterly fabulous–just had to share in your enthusiasm! Tough choice on how to go to the interview, especially if the app has your male name. There’s no way you could inquire/explain ahead of time, I suppose? Do let us know what you decide, and good luck!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks!! Yeah HPB is, indeed, utterly fabulous! 🙂

      I thought about mentioning it to them on the phone yesterday, but am leaning toward my :shudder: maleness, just to open the door. I’ll still have on very feminine clothing, since that’s what I wear. I only have a handful of guys clothes, which are concert and Star Wars T-shirts. 🙂

      I might call them tomorrow and see, but not sure yet. At this point, a job is more important than how I get to dress at that job. Without money, there can be no transition.

      Will certainly update here!!!

      • Tracy says:

        Good point, getting the job is the first necessary step. It’s so tempting for me in cyberspace to say “just be YOU,” but of course, that could jeopardize your chances, as you’re well aware, but hopefully not at HPB! I’m crossing my fingers for you that it works out well 🙂

Leave a Reply

