Wonder Woman: A costume in the making

So I decided a while back, like when I lost 60 pounds, that I was going to do the ever necessary Wonder Woman costume this Halloween.

It’s tough enough for women to pull this off, but add to the fact that I am not a girl (not yet a woman), this will be difficult indeed.  But the payoff will be totally worth it, I can already tell.

I had looked around at costumes and just didn’t find any that I was willing to spend 60 bucks on.  Trust me, I have WAY better things to buy with 60 bucks than a cheaply made costume. Then it hit me.  I will piece together my own!

I was at Target, looking at mostly nothing, when I saw the clearance swimwear rack.  I decided to take a look.  Hidden among all the season’s rejects was one lone pair of bikini bottoms, just the right shade of blue and size small. $2

From here, I sauntered over to the intimates section to see if I could find a red bustier or similar corset.  No luck.  I thought a bit and decided that this Wonder Woman was going to have shoulder straps, so I went back and grabbed a red tank. $8  Making a pit stop in the craft section, I nabbed a pack of craft stars ($2) and was well on my way.

I ran by JoAnn Fabrics and found some gold trim that would do nicely as a magic lasso of truth. $6

I was excited about how well this looked already, that I could not wait to head out today to find some more accessories.

A stop at GoodWill led me to a great pair of boots that were a bit too small, but I could work with.  As I looked around more, I found a bin of rejects (or something) and found THE PERFECT PAIR of boots, and they were my size!! Only $6!!!  What a great way to start the hunt.

From there I went to TJMaxx to look for a belt I could repurpose.  I found a gold belt that will do nicely.  $12.  I ended up folding and going to a local Halloween store to find the headband and cuffs, which I did find, for $9.

From here, I am going to buy some red spray paint for plastic, for the boots, and a pair of sheer to waist hose or tights.  Making the design for the chest emblem and will grab some gold lame’ for that (and to possibly embellish the belt).

I know I may hit close to the cost of a costume by the time I am done, but it will be a costume I made and one that looks a million times better than the pre packed versions I found.  With it being of better quality, it could be used again some time.  Will post the progress.  🙂

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Bizarre, Nerd Alert, Super Gay, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

