Down a percentage, but for how long?

Today I began my temporary seasonal position at Target.

The up side is, there will now be a little more money coming in (as opposed to none).  The down side, my rate of living as I am meant to be will be knocked down a few notches.  At present, I am Jenn about 90% of the time (maybe 95%), but with working as my male self, that is going to decrease to around 70%….less than that the more hours I get.  It’s a blessing and a curse.

Another up side to the job is that it can turn into permanent employment after 90 days.  I am going to take this into consideration and figure out how and when to begin talking to them about my transition plans.  The up side to this is that many of them already know me as Jenn.  I am in the store often enough and a couple of the “team leaders” have interacted with me.  I will also let them know how well I have been treated in their store by all the employees.  In the beginning they weren’t all thrilled to see me at the checkouts, but even those have come around to being quite friendly.  Partially out of my confidence building and appearance being much more feminine, partially out of their getting used to seeing me and interacting with someone who is far different from what they have been shown on television.

I am thinking about talking to the two HR people rather soon, and hopefully not jeopardize my possible extended employment.  However, if I can come out to them, it should prove to be just fine.  Target, even though they have given money to anti-gay politicians, has a VERY good set of rules against harassment and discrimination.  They take it quite seriously.  I will continue to go shopping as Jenn and not change anything I do on my own time.  As I get to meet more co-workers as my true self, the actual telling will be a bit less stressful.

It will be rough to transition there, but will do it as it approaches.  I have a lot of family in this city and my wife has many co-workers that shop there.  She works for a very conservative bunch of people who would not agree with this journey and could jeopardize her job.  (maybe….I think they all know me well enough that they would see how this is a necessary journey, but who knows).

So there it is.  The percentage of being the real me goes down, for a while, but the process of telling many and truly starting this journey has an increased percentage.  I will keep up to date with the job situation here.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Down a percentage, but for how long?

    • Jennifer says:

      It will be worked out for sure. Enough people there have seen me as Jenn, so that isn’t an issue. The issue lies with other parties….it will all work out. I know it will. As long as I stay true to myself, I can’t go wrong. 🙂

Leave a Reply

