When the baby tomato fell behind, the papa tomato…… Part One

The Papa tomato squashed him and said, “Ketchup”.

That is what I am here to do.  Play catch-up.  Some pretty amazing things have gone on and it is far past time to share.

I will start off with the least exciting and the first to occur in the timeline.

OCTOBER 2011: BALL STATE SPECTRUM (LGBTQSA) PRESENTS THE TRANS SOCIAL:

My good friend Cheryl Anne and I decided to attend a special event at Ball State University.  The Trans Social was an attempt to educate the public about being transgender and exactly what it all means.  There was a good board presentation as 4 courageous students told their stories.  Each one different.  Each one interesting.

Being a little older than them (like, about double their age) I knew what they were talking about but also raised new issues I hadn’t thought about.  When it was over, a couple members of the LGBTSA came over and chatted with us.  Super nice bunch of students and completely open to critiquing of the event and where things could be changed.  More importantly, a bond was made.  We laughed and talked until we finally had to get out of the meeting room and disperse to other areas where we needed to be.

OCTOBER 29, 2011: The Unleashing of Wonder Woman on the unsuspecting Muncie public:

I had blogged earlier about creating my own WW costume.  I found everything needed to make this for about a total of $25.  Not bad for a pieced together costume.  Here were the results:  I got several whistles, shouts, stares, honks, admirations, etc…

We started at the Drag Show at Ball State, put on by SPECTRUM.  A great show, the best I’d seen there yet.  (We = Cheryl, myself and my daughter…until the bars, she’s only 20) Everything seemed to go smoothly for the performers and there were some shy first timers that performed as well.  Magnificent all around.  We were met by many of the students during intermission and had great talks once again with them after the show.

From there we walked back to the AJ building where the comments began on the WW costume.  We then went downtown to a couple bars.  The first was The Fickle Peach.  They had a small costume contest going on and I decided to enter (didn’t win anything).  While standing up front, I came face to face with an old friend of mine, who applauded and tried to get the others to applaud for me, rather than the store purchased Sexy Skunk and Risque’ Raccoon…. but it’s all good.  One of the male contestants leaned over and said, “I give you props, man, but I gotta admit I just threw up in mouth a little bit.”  Not a comment that phased me in the least. I gave the guy a high five and kept on with the show.  I ended up talking to my friend and his wife for a while (he was not phased in the least, but his wife was proud of declaring that she knew that was not a woman wearing the costume (ouch) and then we headed off to another bar to catch another drag show.

The walk from the Peach to Doc’s was met with more “Hey Wonder Woman!” comments and other delights.  I have to admit, between the whistles and shout outs, my hips began to sway a little more than normal.  I was……strutting!  🙂  Not a lot happened at Doc’s, so I shan’t mention it here.  We stayed for quite a while and then called it a night.

Yeah, the costume kicked ass.

 

 

 

 

After dropping off Cheryl, I just couldn’t NOT let the costume be seen one more time.  I went to campus, parked and gave a parade through the college that was met with more shouts, whistles and “OH MY GOD” comments than I was expecting.  I almost made one car have an accident as every male in the car, driver included, leaned out with tongues wagging, whistlers going and howls of excitement….as they turned too sharply, hit the curb and almost the street light.  I don’t want anyone to get hurt….but that was nice!!  It made me feel like I was MORE than passing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was more exposed than I had ever been as Jenn, and we’re not just talking about the scantness of my costume.  I was seen by a LOT of people.  People whom I wouldn’t normally encounter.  I was coming further out of my shell…

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOVEMBER 3, 2011: FIRST THURSDAY ART WALK

Cheryl Anne introduced me to the First Thursday Art Walks around town. I had no idea it existed.  This had been my 2nd or 3rd one and I was totally accepted and embraced by the art community as Jenn.  We talked with several artists and owners of businesses and were then told that RENT was in its final performance weekends.  The 5th was the final show.  I decided I had to attend.  It was on this night that I toyed with coming out to my best friend, Jeff.

I texted Jeff to see if he was free, but he had the local PBS beg-a-thon going on, so he was busy.  I called it a night and wondered when I would ever be able to tell him.  I’d only been trying to gather the courage for the past few years…..  Telling him would be the launching point.  I knew it had to be soon, even if for the only reason that my friend I saw out at the bar was a mutual friend and I wanted to get my story out first….

 

Thus endeth part one.  Part two to follow soon.  Can you guess where this is heading??

 

 

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal, Lady Bits, Nerd Alert, Transgender Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

