A strict upbringing

A little post to shed a little light on how I was brought up.

Some of it involved double standards.  We were taught to treat everyone with respect and kindness, though there were certain groups of people that were not seen favorably by my parents.  This still goes on today.  They are nice people, just a little wrong in their standards and convictions.

Growing up, Star Wars was NOT allowed in our house.  There had been some tape circulating around our church that told of the evils of Star Wars.  It told how this “Science Fiction” movie was going to destroy religion.

There was to be NO Dungeons & Dragons in our house since it was the tool of the devil.  Yes, our church taught that as well.  We were taught on a regular basis how evil it was.  We were told stories of the horrors that were associated with this game.  We were consistently told lies.

It is these two things, and believe me when I say there were MANY more than these two. that made me appreciate a couple things more than anything else.

I had friends that played D&D.  Friends that went to our church.  Friends that attended the christian school (run by our church) that I attended.  My parents finally broke down one year and realized that this wasn’t really Satan’s tool.  I remember the Christmas I received a hand held LCD D&D game from my parents.  I think they tested the D&D waters with the electronic board game called THE DARK TOWER. It wasn’t D&D so they were ok with it.  Even though it was basically D&D, without the other people playing….you know, the ones who would turn me to their dark ways and possibly cause me to do drugs and turn to murder… Anyway, it was a simple maze game that had the player going from room to room, hoping to avoid such things as the pits, bats and, mainly, the Dragon.  Along the way you pick up a rope (to get out of the pit) and an arrow (to slay the dragon).  You would have to guess when you were close to the dragon and shoot your arrow into the unknown, hopefully finding him.  If not, you continue on your way, hoping to grab the arrow once again, before encountering the dragon……

I also remember the Christmas they got me my first Star Wars toy.  Now, I had saved up allowances and bought a figure here and there (or skipped lunch and saved that money), but my parents had never purchased me anything.  It was the SNOWSPEEDER from The Empire Strikes Back.  It was such a joyous occasion.  I carefully opened the box and made sure that everything remained intact.  It was great to be able to run around with my own ship and take on my own missions for the Rebellion (upon occasion it would be for the Empire, after they stole the one remaining Rebel ship).  No matter how the scenario played out, it was my own story.  My own three act play.

I remember these toys because they were a turning point in the way my parents began to view things.  The way they began to view me.  I had crossed over into the teenage years and they gave a little more clout to my feelings and interests. They came around to realize that I had these interests, whether they approved or not, and I wasn’t joining the occult, sacrificing animals (or children) and I wasn’t rebelling against the rules that had been set in place…..except, of course, for still enjoying the aforementioned novelties.  These two toys meant so much to me and I still have them both.  They will be items that I will never part with.

**I hope that over the past several years my parents vies on certain things have also changed, so they can accept who I am and the changes that are ahead**

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in It's Personal, Nerd Alert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

