The Power of Yes

The enormous power of the word Yes. It is the single word that made John Lennon move toward Yoko Ono (she did NOT break up the band, Paul did). Yes is a word that leads to a veritable cornucopia of possibilities.

A couple years ago I wrote about the negative sides of saying “yes”. I wrote how saying that single word, without any followup, moved me toward the journey I am on today. If I had only added a, “..but only if we can make this work.” to the end of it. But I didn’t. I said “Yes” to the question “Are you happier as Jen?”. This was asked on our wedding anniversary. It changed the future as I saw it playing out.

But today I am in a much better place. Today I write about the amazing positive energy that flows from opening ones self up to the positivity in that word. A small word that can lead to so many wondrous things.

Throughout 2015 I said yes to new things very sporadically. Sometimes they would pan out, other times not. When they didn’t, I have come to realize, is when I did not open myself up to the full potential that moment was actually affording me. This changed late in the year.

October rolled around and I was asked if I wanted to say some words about Caitlin Jenner for an awards video. I said yes and opened up a world of emotions while talking. Later that month I was “suggested” to attend a launch party. I did not know the show. I knew nothing about it. I went with two close friends and when I stepped out of the elevator, I felt like “Yes” stabbed me in the back. Nothing but models. Gorgeous people. Well dressed. Very poised. And me. Motorcycle jacket, plain striped dress, boots and a hat. But then I met Laura Jane Grace. Cool. Then they announced the show and someone involved. Cait! I ended up getting to meet her, which rocked, and then resigned myself to “meh” the rest of the night away in a soft chair. But that didn’t happen. I met the most amazing person with whom I was immediately comfortable. We talked for hours, about everything. She changed my life and gave it a new spark. We became instant friends.

The holidays came and went and New Year’s Eve was upon us. I was invited to the house of Zackary Drucker, a producer for Transparent. I said “yes” and went with a dear friend. I felt very at home there and found it easy to actually talk to people. I had opened myself up to the experience. To the universe. I spoke with several people, which is something this introvert never does. I was taken out back to another conversation with more amazing people. The universe was talking and I was listening. “Yes” was the sound the wind made as it blew through the trees and fire pit. As it blew past my ears.

The beginning of 2016 is no less spectacular. I am at ease with everything, except dancing, and maybe traffic, but aside from that, I’m good. I began writing more. I auditioned for a play, something that I had not done in over 25 years. I was nervous. I was freaked out. I was coached by a very close friend. I was cast!!! I spoke at my church, Neighborhood UU in Pasadena. The feeling of the words being received was phenomenal. The feedback was amazing. Yet another experience to make this journey whole. After all, The great lyricist Neil Peart penned, “The point of the journey is not to arrive. Anything can happen.”

I’ve been told, often, that I am an uplifting, positive person. I guess I just never opened myself up to receive the energy I was letting out.

About Jennifer

She grew up in an Indiana town Had a good-lookin' mama who never was around But she grew up tall and she grew up right With them Indiana boys on them Indiana nights Well, there are partial truths above. Being from Indiana, I did grow up in an Indiana town. I did not have a good lookin mama, but she was always around.'I did not grow up tall, but I suppose I grew up right. I spent lots of time with Indiana boys on Indiana nights. It's because I was one. Still am in some ways. Certainly not in others. My transitional journey has begun. Goodbye to my male self and hello to this wonderfully feminine world in which I was meant to live. At the age of 45, I am beginning my true journey to self and home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

